Australian Open History

Australian Open History begins with the year 1905 when the tournament was first held. The Australian Open is the first Grand Slam of the calendar year. In recent years it is traditionally held in January in the city of Melbourne. It is one of two Grand Slam events that are played on a hard court surface. (The other one being the US Open in September)

The tournament is known as the Fans Slam for its great atmosphere on the grounds!

Australian Open – Fun in the Sun!

History of the event

The tournament was initially played at Warehouseman’s Cricket Ground in 1905 and in the year 1924 it became a major championship. In the early years of the tournament the event was moved many times to different locations including: Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane and Perth among others!

Since 1972 the tournament has been held in Melbourne every year!
From 1972 to 1987 the location of the tournament was the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club. The surface was grass until the year 1988 when the event was moved from Kooyong to Melbourne Park. A bigger facility was necessary because the event gained in popularity with spectators.

Since 1988 Melbourne Park has been the event location every year and the Australian Open have become the largest sporting event in Australia! In recent years attendance has been over half a million visitors every year!

Players and Champions

Australian Open History has been influenced by the fact that the event is so far away from Europe and the United States. As a result many top players did not attend the event until roughly 1983 when Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, and John McEnroe entered the event. Even Andre Agassi decided not to make the trip to Australia early on in his career!

In recent years though, all the top players usually make the trip to Australia trying to become a part of tennis history by winning the Australian Open Title!

The most successful Singles Champions at the Australian Open are:


1. Roy Emerson (6 titles)

2. Andre Agassi (4 titles)

3. Roger Federer (4 titles)


1. Margaret Court (7 titles)

2. Serena Williams (5 titles)

Crazy Fans

The Australian Open is known as the “Fans Slam” for its enthusiastic and friendly fans.

Australians make a big party out of the event and it is highly recommended to attend it at least once in a lifetime if you are a tennis fan!

The atmosphere on the grounds of this event is really unique and one can get an idea of how exciting it is when the TV stations report from the grounds of the event in between matches!

Check out this video showcasing
what the Aussie Open is all about!


By now the tournament has three major courts that showcase the most important matches. Rod Laver Arena is the main court and seats approximately 14,820 spectators! This is where the finals are played and Australian Open History is decided.

The second major arena is Hisense Arena. This court was completed in the year 2000 and seats about 11,000 people.

The third major arena in Melbourne Park is Margaret Court Arena. This venue sits about 6,000 people and was built in 1988.

Want To Improve Your Own Game ?
Sign Up And Get Free Video Tips!


Online Tennis Instruction